<< Back to Chromatin Club Home Page

Chromatin-Con

Chromatin-Con: Epigenetic Mechanisms & Human Disease Meeting

Save the Date! Make plans to tune in to the first ever Chromatin-Con: Epigenetics & Human Disease Meeting. This will be an all-day, online event featuring presentations from 20 international experts focusing on the emerging research into the relationship between epigenetic mechanisms and human disease. Our goal is to share information and foster interactions between scientists from around the globe with interests in epigenetics research.

There will four sessions in total - the first two featuring speakers based in Europe, and the following 2 sessions from researchers in North America. Please see the agenda below to see approximate start times for each session and speaker.

This event is free and open to all; however, registration will be required. You will only need to register once to be able to access all sessions, and can enter and leave at your convenience.

Event Registration

Register for the event on Zoom using the button below.

Register Now

Upcoming Event Details

Date: October 26th, 2021

Time: 10:00 a.m. – 3:00 a.m. CEST
1:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. PDT

Meeting Organizers: Active Motif, Inc.

Session 1: Epigenetics and Disease - 10:00 a.m. CEST / 1:00 a.m. PDT

Luciano Di Croce, Ph.D.
Session Chair
Co-coordinator of the Gene Regulation, Stem Cells and Cancer Programme, Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG)
Barcelona, Spain
Paola Scaffidi, Ph.D.
Group Leader, The Francis Crick Institute
London, United Kingdom
Charlotte Ling, Ph.D.
Professor, Lund University Diabetes Centre
Lund, Sweden
Edda Schulz, Ph.D.
Lise Meitner Group Leader, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics
Berlin, Germany
Manel Esteller, Ph.D.
Director, Cancer Epigenetics Group, Josep Carreras Leukaemia Research Institute
Barcelona, Spain

Session 2: Single Cell Technologies in Epigenetics - 2:00 p.m. CEST / 5:00 a.m. PDT

Goncalo Castelo-Branco, Ph.D.
Session Chair
Associate Professor of Neurobiology at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics, Karolinska Institutet
Stockholm, Sweden
Efrat Shema, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator and Assistant Professor, Weizmann Institute of Science
Rehovot, Israel
Jop Kind, Ph.D.
Group Leader, Hubrecht Institute, Developmental Biology and Stem Cell Research
Utrecht, Netherlands
Ana Pombo, Ph.D.
Professor, Group Head at BIMSB, Max Delbrueck Center for Molecular Medicine
Berlin, Germany
Peter Tessarz, Ph.D.
Max Planck Research Group Leader, Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing
Cologne, Germany

Session 3: Epigenetic Mechanisms of Disease - 7:00 p.m. CEST / 10:00 a.m. PDT

John Rinn, Ph.D.
Session Chair
Professor, and Marvin H. Caruthers Endowed Chair for Early-Career Faculty University of Colorado, Boulder
Boulder, USA
Bing Ren, Ph.D.
Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine, UC San Diego, and Director, UCSD Center for Epigenomics
San Diego, USA
Diana Hargreaves, Ph.D.
Associate Professor in the Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
San Diego, USA
Kristian Helin, Ph.D.
Professor, Chief Executive and President of The Institute of Cancer Research
London, UK
Lluis Morey, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, University of Miami, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center
Miami, USA

Session 4: Chromatin Regulation of Life and Disorders - 11:00 p.m. CEST / 2:00 p.m. PDT

Karolin Luger, Ph.D.
Session Chair
Professor, and Jennie Smoly Caruthers Endowed Chair of Biochemistry, University of Colorado, Boulder
Boulder, USA
Peter Adams, Ph.D.
Director and Professor, Aging, Cancer and Immuno-oncology Program, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
San Diego, USA
Sarah Kimmins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Reproductive Biology, McGill University
Montreal, Canada
Suhn Kyong Rhie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine, University of Southern California
Los Angeles, USA
Aniruddha Deshpande, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Tumor Initiation and Maintenance Program, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
San Diego, CA

Session 1: Epigenetics and Disease - 10:00 a.m. CEST / 1:00 a.m. PDT

Time Speaker
10:00 – 10:45 a.m. CEST
1:00 – 1:45 a.m. PDT
Paola Scaffidi
Chromatin Deregulation in Cancer: Mechanisms and Functional Impact
10:45 – 11:30 a.m. CEST
1:45 – 2:30 a.m. PDT
Charlotte Ling
Epigenetic Mechanisms in Type 2 Diabetes
11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. CEST
2:30 – 3:15 a.m. PDT
Luciano Di Croce
The Biological Role of Polycomb and MLL Complexes in Stem Cells and Cancer
12:15 – 1:00 p.m. CEST
3:15 – 4:00 a.m. PDT
Edda Schulz
Signal Decoding at the Xist Locus
1:00 – 1:45 p.m. CEST
4:00 – 4:45 a.m. PDT
Manel Esteller
Cancer Epigenetics and Epitranscriptomics
1:45 – 2:00 p.m. CEST
4:45 – 5:00 a.m. PDT
Break

Session 2: Single Cell Technologies in Epigenetics - 2:00 p.m. CEST / 5:00 a.m. PDT

Time Speaker
2:00 – 2:45 p.m. CEST
5:00 – 5:45 a.m. PDT
Goncalo Castelo-Branco
Single-cell Epigenomics of Oligodendroglia During Neural Development and in Multiple Sclerosis
2:45 – 3:30 p.m. CEST
5:45 – 6:30 a.m. PDT
Efrat Shema
Single-molecule Epigenetics: Decoding the Epigenome for Cancer Research and Diagnostics
3:30 – 4:15 p.m. CEST
6:30 – 7:15 a.m. PDT
Jop Kind
Single-cell Genome-wide Profiling of Epigenetics and Spatial Genome Organization with scDam&T
4:15 – 4:15 p.m. CEST
7:15 – 8:00 a.m. PDT
Ana Pombo
Specialization of 3D Genome Topologies in Specific Cell Types
5:00 – 5:45 p.m. CEST
8:00 – 8:45 a.m. PDT
Peter Tessarz
Single Cell Epigenomics Reveal Zonation-specific Differences in the Ageing of Liver and Establish Organoids as an Ex-vivo Model System for Ageing Research
5:45 – 6:00 p.m. CEST
8:45 – 10:00 a.m. PDT
Break

Session 3: Epigenetic Mechanisms of Disease - 7:00 p.m. CEST / 10:00 a.m. PDT

Time Speaker
7:00 – 7:45 p.m. CEST
10:00 – 10:45 a.m. PDT
Bing Ren
Single Cell Epigenomics and Interpretation of Non-coding Disease Risk Variants
7:45 – 8:30 p.m. CEST
10:45 – 11:30 a.m. PDT
Diana Hargreaves
Remodeling the Chromatin Landscape: SWI/SNF Complexes in Development and Disease
8:30 – 9:15 p.m. CEST
11:30 – 12:15 a.m. PDT
Kristian Helin
Epigenetics, and Its Role in Transcription, Cell Fate and Cancer
9:15 – 10:00 p.m. CEST
12:15 – 1:00 p.m. PDT
John Rinn
Elucidating the Interface Between RNA & Chromatin
10:00 – 10:45 p.m. CEST
1:00 – 1:45 p.m. PDT
Lluis Morey
Defining the Role of PRC1 and CoREST Complexes in Breast Cancer
10:45 - 11:00 p.m. CEST
1:45 – 2:00 p.m. PDT
Break

Session 4: Chromatin Regulation of Life and Disorders - 11:00 p.m. CEST / 2:00 p.m. PDT

Time Speaker
11:00 – 11:45 p.m. CEST
2:00 – 2:45 p.m. PDT
Karolin Luger
In the Beginning, There Were Histones: Chromatin Structure in Non-eukaryotic Organisms
11:45 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. CEST
2:45 – 3:30 p.m. PDT
Peter Adams
Histone Chaperone HIRA Reveals a Link Between Embryonic Development and Late Life Aging
12:30 – 1:15 a.m. CEST
3:30 – 4:15 p.m. PDT
Sarah Kimmins
A Tale of Mice and Men: Determining the Role of the Paternal Sperm Epigenome in Development and Disease
1:15 – 2:00 a.m. CEST
4:15 – 5:00 p.m. PDT
Suhn Kyong Rhie
Using 3D Epigenomic Maps to Understand gene Regulation and Human Diseases
2:00 – 2:45 a.m. CEST
5:00 – 5:45 p.m. PDT
Aniruddha Deshpande
Changes in the Reading Curriculum – Chromatin Reader Alterations in Oncogenesis

Event Registration

Register for the event on Zoom using the button below. Registration for the event is required but is free of charge.

Register Now