<< Back to Chromatin Club Home Page

All-Ireland Chromatin Consortium

All-Ireland Chromatin Consortium (AICC) – Kickoff Symposium

The All-Ireland Chromatin Consortium was established in 2021 to foster collaborations between researchers located across the whole of Ireland, promote scientific exchange, and to facilitate networking between students, postdocs, and PIs working in the field of chromatin biology.

The scientific focus of the consortium is broad, and we intend to bridge basic, applied, and translational chromatin research, including transcriptional regulation, chromatin folding and DNA methylation.

The All-Ireland Chromatin Consortium promotes and expects a non-judgmental and supportive attitude from participants. If you would like to join the AICC, please visit the AICC website for more information.

Attendance is free of charge, but registration is required.

Upcoming Event Details

Date: TBD

Time: TBD

Keynote Speaker: TBD

Visit the AICC website to Register

Previous Event Details

Date: May 27, 2022

Time: 8:00 a.m. (PT) / 4:00 p.m. (BST)

Keynote Speaker: Nada Jabado


Date: April 29th, 2022

Time: 7:00 a.m. (PT) / 4:00 p.m. (BST)

Keynote Speaker: Wendy Bickmore

 

Date: March 25th, 2022

Time: 9:00 a.m. (PT) / 4:00 p.m. (GMT)

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Dirk Schubeler, Ph.D. – FMI/ University of Basel, Switzerland

 

Date: February 25th, 2022

Time: 8:00 a.m. (PT) / 4:00 p.m. (GMT)

Keynote Speaker: Rob Klose, Ph.D. – Professor of Biochemistry, University of Oxford, UK

 

Date: February 4th, 2022

Time: 8:00 a.m. (PT) / 4:00 p.m. (GMT)

Keynote Speaker: Kristian Helin, Ph.D. – Professor, Chief Executive and President of The Institute of Cancer Research, London, UK

 

Date: December 3rd, 2021

Time: 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. (GMT)

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Eileen Furlong – European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg, Germany

Organized By: Dr. Effie Kostareli, Queen’s University Belfast

Meeting Agenda

Welcome Address and Introduction to AICC

  • 10:00 a.m. – 10:10 a.m. Dr. Effie Kostareli

Plenary Session 1 - Chair: Dr. Simon McDade

  • 10:10 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Dr. Konstantin Panov, Queen’s University Belfast – Histone Demethylase KDM4A as Master Regulator of Post-stress Recovery.
  • 10:30 a.m. – 10:50 a.m. Dr. Yaser Atlasi, PGJCCR, Queen’s University Belfast – Dissecting the Enhancer Landscape in Embryonic Stem Cells.
  • 10:50 a.m. – 11:10 a.m. Dr. Gerard Brien, Trinity College Dublin – Targeting Oncogenic Chromatin Regulation in Childhood Cancers.
  • 11:10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Dr. Sara Farrona, National University of Ireland Galway – UBP5, A New Interactor of PRC2 in Arabidopsis.

Short Talks Series 1 - Chair: Dr. Catríona Dowling

  • 11:30 a.m. – 11:40 a.m. Tamas Sessler, Queen’s University Belfast
  • 11:40 a.m. – 11:50 a.m. Marlena Mucha, Trinity College Dublin
  • 11:50 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Ryan Lusby, Queen’s University Belfast

Sponsor Talk

  • 12:10 p.m. – 12:25 p.m. Dr. Leonardo Motta, Active Motif

Poster Viewing and Lunch Break

  • 12:25 p.m. – 1:40 p.m.

Keynote Address - Chair: Dr. Vijay Tiwari

  • 1:40 p.m. – 2:40 p.m. Dr. Eileen Furlong, EMBL, Germany – Forget About Chromatin – Enhancers Do the Job!

Short Talk Series 2 - Chair: Dr. Gerard Brien

  • 2:40 p.m. – 2:50 p.m. Karen Conboy, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • 2:50 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Eleanor Glancy, Trinity College Dublin
  • 3:00 p.m. – 3:10 p.m. Charalampos Xanthopoulos, WWIEM, Queen’s University Belfast
  • 12:00 p.m. – 12:10 p.m. Orla Deevy, Trinity College Dublin

Break

  • 3:10 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Tea/Coffee Break

Short Talk Series 3 - Chair: Prof. Colum Walsh

  • 3:30 p.m. – 3:40 p.m. Mohammed Inayatullah, Queen’s University Belfast
  • 3:40 p.m. – 3:50 p.m. Febrimarsa Febrimarsa, National University of Ireland Galway
  • 3:50 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Aditi Singh, Queen’s University Belfast

Career Development and Networking Event

  • 4:00 p.m. - 4:10 p.m. Opportunities for AICC PhD students and postdocs - Dr. Gerard Brien and Dr. Simon McDade

Plenary Session 2 - Chair: Prof Uri Frank

  • 4:10 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Dr. Adrian Bracken, Trinity College Dublin – Polycombs in Cancer and Developmental Disorders.
  • 4:30 p.m. – 4:50 p.m. Dr. Adone Sarip, PGJCCR, Queen’s University Belfast – Unlocking Chromatin Through Targeting DOC1 and NuRD in Oral Squamous Cell Carcinomas.

Poster and Presentation Awards

  • 5:00 p.m. Chair: Dr. Adrian Bracken